Distribution Markings

These codes are used to restrict the dissemination of information to only those with teh appropriate classification level and the need to know the information. They include the following:

  • For Official Use Only : FOUO
  • Originator Controlled : ORCON
  • No Foreign Nationals : NOFORN
  • Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act : FISA
  • Five Eyes : 5EYE

    This code refers to the security alliance operating between the USA, Britain (GBR), New Zealand (NZA), Canada (CAN) and Australia (AUS)

The NSA used to use special SIGINT Exchange Designators to refer to different countries. They have been largely replaced by the 'REL TO[...]' marking, which uses a country trigraph codes to indicate the relevant party.